So I’ve Got My Idea… Now What?

Finally I have selected my topic, now it’s time to start planning out my characters, setting, and plot. Even though I like to be a semi-pantser and have freedom when I begin writing, I don’t like to fly in blind. I always try to plan out my characters at the very least. When I know my characters, the rest seems to fall into place.

My biggest challenge is creating a character that is flawed. You can’t have your character be perfect all the time or there’d be no conflict. They’d be able to breeze through anything that came up against them. The heart of a story seems to be in a character’s way of solving problems. It’s the one thing a story would be dead without.

Finding worksheets, such as the one below, is a great way to build a character and have fun doing it. There are a million versions of the same sort of sheet, so find one that works for you and make copies so you can use it as many times as you need.

character building worksheet.jpg

Besides characters, there’s plot. Duh. But coming up with a plot isn’t as easy as that. A good plot has a major conflict but a great plot has multiple conflicts within the course of the rising action. You know, rising action? Falling action?

dramatic structure

This may seem cliche, but every story follows this basic outline. Sure, the rising action and falling action may not be equal, but you need every piece to this puzzle in order to write a complete story. Resolution to your story is just as important as the background which is just as important as the climax, so be sure to take your time on each aspect.

Lastly, the setting. A teacher in college had us do a great exercise where we literally drew our setting on a blank sheet of paper. It really helps you figure out the spacing between things either in a forest (like mine was) or a building. How many floors? How many rooms? What’s the general layout to the rooms? It’s easy to envision it in your head and hard to draw out, but it will help you think of spacial details that you haven’t thought of before.

Regardless of if you draw out your setting or not, make sure to give enough details to paint the picture in your reader’s head. I can be fully absorbed in a story but if you mention halfway through about the airlocks leaking, indicating that it takes place in space, it could drastically change the images I had been thinking of before. You need to set your stage before the actors come out to perform.

I don’t have a fun setting image so I’ll leave you with this; your story is meant to be written only by you. No one else on this planet can write your story for you.

Stay creative my friends,

Dana

 

Leave a Reply

